Summer Session

August 2 - August 7, 2021

Puerto Rico Symphony Orchestra

San Juan, Puerto Rico

The LAFCI Summer Session is designed for alumni of the The Intensive workshops who are seeking more podium time to further their conducting technique and rehearsal skills with a live orchestra. The Summer Session will host two sessions each day for five days, culminating with a live concert with each participant conducting their own piece with the Puerto Rico Symphony Orchestra located on the beautiful island of Puerto Rico. Each participant will receive video and audio recordings of their work as well as video footage of each session with the orchestra.

The Summer Session will focus on film repertoire, participant piece, technique sessions and will be led by faculty members Conrad Pope and Angel Velez. Below are samples of repertoire, subject to change, with a full list being made available at a later date:

  • E. Bernstein, The Magnificent Seven

  • J. Cardoni, One Week (punches and streamers)

  • A. Dvorak, Serenade for Strings

  • E. Elgar, Serenade for Strings

  • K. Kiner, The Bad Batch

  • D. Newman, Matilda (punches and streamers)

  • R. Wagner, Procession to the Cathedral from Lohengrin

  • J. Williams, The Flight to Neverland

Only 10 spaces will be made available for this unique opportunity to work with a professional orchestra on a daily basis.

Financial aid consideration is not available for this workshop.

Fee: $3,500 USD

(includes 7 nights in hotel and WIFI as well as transportation to and from airport)

Puerto Rican Flag.jpg

Site Title

Upon acceptance, half of tuition (a non-refundable deposit) will be due no later than May 1 to hold your spot in the workshop.  The remaining balance must be received no later than July 5.
To apply, please fill out the below form.  Applications will be accepted through April 16, with notifications made by April 19.
Sala Sinfonica, home of the Puerto Rico Symphony Orchestra and LAFCI 2021 Summer Session.
Sala Sinfonica interior
Learn more about the Puerto Rico Symphony Orchestra.